module display/encoidng issue

Discussion on theWord modules and other resources
keyuhui

module display/encoidng issue

Post by keyuhui »

Hi Costas,

I LOVE your program! I believe is is the best Bible software I've ever seen, and I'm still discovering features that I didn't realize existed. Two of my favorite new (beta) features are the local maximize/minimize buttons and the feature to display addtional translations in a popup. As a translator, I got excited just reading about that feature...and using it has been even better!

I'm having trouble with certain TW modules not displaying properly. I think it's a problem with the encoding. Any ideas what's causing it? For some modules, smart quotes, dashes and other marks and diacritics display as garbled Chinese text (see attached)

Just a little background on my situation...

My OS is Chinese Windows 7, but most of my modules display perfectly fine, including those with smart quotes, dashes (–), and other special symbols and diacritics., but some of my modules always display incorrectly (see above).

Some of the problematic modules include: Hasting's Bible Dictionary, and Hasting's NT Dictionary, Lange's Commentary, Church Pulpit Commentary, Bridgeway Dictionary, and several others. The modules look fine in eSword, but the counterpart modules (whether downloaded or converted with TW's importer tool), have the above mentioned encoding issues.

I've tried changing the Encoding settings for TW's importer tool to see if that helped, but so far it hasn't. I think the default is 1252, and I've tried 936, 54936 (both for Chinese encoding), and several others without avail.