TheWord Performance on multi-core CPU's

Ideas and suggestions about new features
Bro_Marko

TheWord Performance on multi-core CPU's

Post by Bro_Marko »

yes, i know theWord is pretty fast, and i have been using it since more than 10+ years happily,
and do not intend to switch unto anything else - because it is the best, even better than LOGOS.

and with every couple years, that i buy a new PC, i notice an improvement in search speeds
(in searching over my gazillion of modules mostly self-created large ones)

but my question is even while it searches, it only uses just like 5% of the CPU

is there NO WAY to max out that CPU usage much more,
because i still have to wait sometimes "1 single minute" (i know :-)
for it to complete a full search through all my 1000 split up modules.

i assume, it could be even MUCH faster, if it could be OPTIMIZED to be more multi-threaded (AMD style)
and thus max out even more the full capacity of even a single CPU, or multi-threading even so the more.

so, while i do not hope for an improvement soon with the current update speeds,
it would be still great if SOMEDAY one could enable a multi-CPU option
to let it fly over the modules even faster than ever before!

thanks Costas & all !
Bro_Marko

Re: TheWord Performance on multi-core CPU's

Post by Bro_Marko »

after all my testing, TheWord seems clearly to be still
a 32-bit, single core (even single thread mostly) working application.

Nevertheless, it is still remarkably fast at that,
and here are now my final tips, to make it even faster:

aside from all the usual best recommendations for a very fast search,
which are to get a fast SSD, fastest CPU you can afford, and fast RAM

the real clincher to get from fast, to SUPER fast speeds (at least 2x faster on any PC),
seems to be the following tip, before you enter on your quest for some heavy searching: