theWord
https://forum.theword.net/

Lookup "word" in >
https://forum.theword.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=6553
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jonathangkoehn [ Sat May 09, 2015 7:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Lookup "word" in >

The function (Lookup "word" in >) when I right click a word in a dictionary and select this function it appears to be doing something for a second then the pop-up menu closes.
I'm using version 4.0.0.1449

Author:  RubioTerra [ Sat May 09, 2015 8:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

theWord must be searching installed dictionaries to list only the ones that have a match for the selected word.

Author:  JG [ Sat May 09, 2015 8:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

jonathangkoehn wrote:
The function (Lookup "word" in >) when I right click a word in a dictionary and select this function it appears to be doing something for a second then the pop-up menu closes.
I'm using version 4.0.0.1449


Maybe there is something wrong with one of your dictionaries.
Do you have error reporting turned on in theWord prefs. If not you might be getting a silent "crash".
1449 is working ok for me, from the Bible view on any Bible with Strong's, Morphology, and lemma.

Author:  jonathangkoehn [ Sun May 10, 2015 12:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

I have quite a few dictionaries under theWORD directory in a folder called dictionaries.

I turned on theWORD error catching in preferences. Apparently I was having a silent crash.

Without going through and removing all books is there another way to find out what dictionary might be causing this?

The silent crash is happening from the Bible or dictionary window.

Author:  JG [ Sun May 10, 2015 7:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

Good that you were getting a crash, because you can simply follow the instructions to allow the crash reporter to send the needed log file (add your email in that preferences page to get a direct reply). When the crash report appears you will then be able to send the needed file automatically. There is also a space for you to add a description of what was happening, where you should put a link to this topic, so Costas can follow through.

You could take a look at the errors.log file in the cache folder for any clues

Author:  csterg [ Mon May 11, 2015 8:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

Do you have a module called CGE ? This seems to be causing an error (seems corrupted)

Author:  jonathangkoehn [ Wed May 13, 2015 2:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

I'll check

Author:  jonathangkoehn [ Wed May 13, 2015 2:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

That was it - thank you so much.

Author:  Leoram [ Wed May 13, 2015 1:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

Costas:

I also have CGE and do a Lookup "word" in >, however, in my case I don't get the lag jonathan is getting and the list of dictionaries where the term is available comes up fast including the CGE. Does this mean that the dictionary in question might be corrupted for some particular users and not for others?

Author:  jonathangkoehn [ Wed May 13, 2015 7:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Lookup "word" in >

It looks like it was just that particular download of CGE. It is fine after a new download of CGE.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC + 2 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/