Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Have you found a bug or you think that the program does not function as expected? Report it here
zolee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:15 pm

Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by zolee »

When I swtich between apps on my PC (alt + tab) and then return to TheWord, theword renders very slow. I literaly can see how different parts of the layout are drawn. It needs 2-3 seconds to finish.
Sometimes it is just fine but most of the time it renders layout slow.

All other apps, I can just switch them normaly and they are visible immediately without any drawing.

Why is that? How it can be fixed?

My laptop is not newest but far away from being slow. Intel i5 8th gen, 16GB ram.
User avatar
jonathangkoehn
Posts: 1241
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 11:04 pm
Location: Colorado, United States
Contact:

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by jonathangkoehn »

How many Floating windows are open?
How many views?
Also have you rebooted recently something may have eaten up your ram and it needs refreshed.

Another thing to check is how old is your PC? PCs tend to wear out over time.
Jonathan Koehn @ https://www.thewordbooks.com
TotheWord make resources for theWord
2 Timothy 2:15 “Make every effort to present yourself before God as a proven worker who does not need to be ashamed, teaching the message of truth accurately.” NET2
zolee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:15 pm

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by zolee »

I have 16Gb of RAM. RAM is not the issue.

Also, PC is is running very smoothly and I have zero problems with it generaly speaking.

This behaviour is unique to TheWord app.

I dont have floating windows. Just normal 3 column layout with two views in each column.
User avatar
JG
Posts: 4589
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:34 pm

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by JG »

Sadly we don't have computers that can do tasks instantly (yet). The more information that needs to be rendered the longer it takes.
Jon
the
Word 6 Bible Software
OS for testing; Windows 10
Beta Download ------Beta Setup Guide------On-line Manual------Tech doc's and Utilities------Copyright Factsheet
zolee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:15 pm

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by zolee »

You are wrong. We acctualy do have computers that on alt + tab instantly recall window of already open app.
Even video rendering app with open project and long videos loaded and does recall itself instantly. Right now I have 12 open apps (including video rendering software with loaded project), almost 30 tabs in 2 different interner browsers. They all do reacall themselfs instatntly upon alt + tab.
Go check it yourself, pres Alt +tab.

TheWord (and esword when I had it) is the only app that behaves in this way I described in the first post. If it is minimised, or switched for a longer time, upon maximizing or switching back, it literaly needs 2.5-3 sec to redraw itself. That is happening even if just restarted and TheWord is the only app loaded. Even with different laptops I had over the years and fully new Windows instalations.

Not a big deal, just wodering is it just me, the way app is made and if there is a workarround.
User avatar
JG
Posts: 4589
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 8:34 pm

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by JG »

Thanks for editing your post after I Reddit :wink:

Similar multi-view apps like EditPad Pro, PowerGrep, RegexBuddy(written in Delphi as is theWord), Visual studio, will at some point take time to render on restore. It appears that the common feature of these apps to theWord, is that they can/do all contain several active views within the main window, so on restore they are not just rendering one view, but many and that does take time.
Jon
the
Word 6 Bible Software
OS for testing; Windows 10
Beta Download ------Beta Setup Guide------On-line Manual------Tech doc's and Utilities------Copyright Factsheet
zolee
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:15 pm

Re: Slow rendering of theword when switching apps

Post by zolee »

Yea, I acctualy just came back from reddit but after a while I thought that I might have inserted nonexistent meaning into what you wrote.

Yea ok, so, it is the way the app is made. No workarround.
Post Reply