Android version

Questions concerning theWord running in emulators under linux or other platforms
DavidJ

Android version

Post by DavidJ »

Hi Costas.

I'd be more than happy to port theWord to Android. This would be a free long-term commitment.

What do you think?

David Joyce
csterg
Site Admin

Re: Andoid version

Post by csterg »

David,
this is a HUGE commitment here. Do you realize what that means?
Costas
DavidJ

Post by DavidJ »

Thank you, Costas.

Not completely. And I would like to know your expectations.

I've been an embedded systems engineer for years, so I have an idea of the commitment.

God's given me a job where I'm doing web-based multimedia Android programming in C/C++. This contract ends at the end of May, so I'll have time on my hands when I can at least begin a "port" of your work to Android. If your code is in C, I should be able to make a lot of progress in the first few months, then other programmers could join the project which I may facilitate thereafter.

I do think God is calling me to this work.

Your brother in Christ.

David Joyce
William

Post by William »

Hi David,

queries:
What compiler do you use?
Do you run a Linux box, Windows or both?
DavidJ

Post by DavidJ »

Hi William.

We're using Ubuntu Linux and Windows 7 and 8 at work. From the command line or the Eclipse ADT (SDK/NDK).

We use the Linux toolset on Ubuntu, and Cygwin on Windows. Debugging on Java is with ADB/ADBD, and for C we use gdb/gdbserver.

We're developing x86 Android devices and software in C. We recompile x86-based code and place it on Android with our own interface. Actually, the command-line versions of the code run without interface modifications.

Wouldn't it be great to put Costas' code on Android? His resources and search engine are the best. And a large tablet could have similar windowing as his PC version.

God Bless You.

David
petrosd

Post by petrosd »

You have my vote. Yes. Please :-)
csterg
Site Admin

Post by csterg »

David,